Uncategorized

Electronic Texts

The one electronic text that I viewed this week was called Storyland.  It started with circus themed music along with the flashing sign of Storyland.  Following that there would be a story that would pop up in different paragraphs.  After the story there was a button that appeared that would bring you to another story.  The texts were easy to navigate, being that you only needed to read then click to see the next story.  The stories were to me at least very vague and confusing.  They left you to imagine what happened instead of just telling you. I remember one story being about an angry man who planned an eternity in peace.  It then said that in another generation he divorced hid junior partner.  Then it said a bookseller was drinking from a glass.  Assumptions were made and the bookseller never forgave the man and the man was tormented by the junior partner.  I found this to be very confusing and I felt that I was left to imagine what happened in that story.  In addition, none of the stories seemed to be connected so I was left with confusion.  The stories didn’t offer much context and seemed to not have an ending.  I would say that I agree with Birkerts in this situation.  Putting these stories into digital ones just left me with confusion.  I would much rather the stories be in a book rather than a computer.

Standard

Leave a comment